Power Day 4 – Opinion is not gospel

So many dreams remain the in confinements of people’s heads just because of the fear of what people might think or say. Why are we so scared of what they might say or think?

When I organised my first event I was quite private about it at first. I didn’t really share or ask people for help. The thing about a vision is that even though it can be so clear in your head when it comes to communication or explaining it to someone else it doesn’t always sound the same. I didn’t want anyone to knock or challenge my dream so I kept a lot of things inside even to people who were quite close to me. Guess who lost out? All in all, it was a good event, however, I lost money time and at times was stressed unnecessarily  because I didn’t want to hear anyone’s opinion. I cut myself off from help.

There was another time when I shared my ideas of Wugu Enterprises with someone I have high regard for. What I thought would be a ‘well done’ actually turned out to be ‘well what makes you different? A lot of people are doing this.‘ I then started to think well maybe there is nothing special about what I’m doing. I started to doubt myself. I’m  very sure it wasn’t meant to discourage but I received the comment or opinion as truth and for a moment was hindered.

Now that’s two stories but there’s  one topic …..

Opinion 

opinion

Now whether someone’s opinion favours you or challenges you guess what? It is always still up to you to take their opinion or advice into consideration. Listening to certain things will not kill you. Constructive criticism will not kill any of us.  If you live a life concealed on every part you’ll miss out on some amazing people and opportunities. If you live a life riding on the opinion of people you’ll live a life reaching only as far as they say you can. Both are limiting factors. This is not a position of power.

In business and in most things you do you must realise this. As long as you put yourself out there people are allowed to have an opinion about you. One of the most annoying things I hear is when someone puts their life on social media and then complains about how everyone is in thier business. As soon as you showcase yourself, you open yourself that. Accept that from the get go. What you have to get to grips with is knowing exactly who you and what you stand for. When you know this, in the winds and storms of people’s opinions you will remain and even flourish off that. Business is not for those wrapped in cotton wool.

Are you someone who changes at every comment and opinion? Have you ever got lost in yourself whilst drowning in the opinions and expectations of men? It’s time to come to the shore and rest in the uniqueness of who you are.

Opinions are not bad and good advice is a key, but remember opinions are not gospel.

Know who you are and choose to stand. This is power.

 

 

 

Leave a comment